The Blasters – The Blasters – 1981

The Blasters are a rock and roll band formed in 1979 in Downey, California, by brothers Phil Alvin (vocals and guitar) and Dave Alvin (guitar), with bass guitarist John Bazz and drummer Bill Bateman. Phil Alvin explained the origin of the band’s name: “I thought Joe Turner’s backup band on Atlantic records – I had these 78s – I thought they were the Blues Blasters. That ends up it was Jimmy McCracklin. I just took the ‘Blues’ off and Joe finally told me, that’s Jimmy McCracklin’s name, but you tell ‘im I gave you permission to steal it.”

Their self-described “American Music” was a blend of blues, rockabilly, early rock and roll, punk rock, mountain music, and rhythm and blues. They have a devoted fan base and have received largely positive critical reviews, but have earned only limited mainstream success. Critic Mark Deming wrote of them, “the Blasters displayed a wide-ranging musical diversity [and] were a supremely tight and tasteful band with enough fire, smarts, and passion for two or three groups.
1. “Marie Marie” – 2:07
2.  “No Other Girl” – 2:29
3.  “I’m Shakin'” (Rudy Toombs) – 2:22
4. “Border Radio” – 2:47
5. “American Music” – 2:10
6. “So Long Baby Goodbye” – 2:24
7. “Hollywood Bed” – 3:33
8. “Never No Mo’ Blues” (Elsie McWilliams, Jimmie Rodgers) – 2:47
9. “This is It” – 2:15
10. “Highway 61” (Albert Laundrew) – 3:00
11. “I Love You So” (Bo Diddley) – 2:51
12. “Stop the Clock” (Bob Ehret, Damon Robertson) – 1:56


Introduce tus datos o haz clic en un icono para iniciar sesión:

Logo de

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Cerrar sesión /  Cambiar )

Google+ photo

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Google+. Cerrar sesión /  Cambiar )

Imagen de Twitter

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Twitter. Cerrar sesión /  Cambiar )

Foto de Facebook

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Facebook. Cerrar sesión /  Cambiar )


Conectando a %s